TO DED 1911.91

The International Foreign Language Honor Society

Phi Sigma Iota

Member of the Association of College Honor Societies

www.phisigmaiota.org

Meeting of the Executive Committee October 17, 2010 Comfort Suites Amish Country, Lancaster, PA 17602

Present: Randall Donaldson; Cynthia Halpern; Susan Rosenstreich; Philip Wolfe

Meeting called to order at 8:45 a.m. by President Susan Rosenstreich.

The agenda for the morning's meeting was approved. Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

The approval of the minutes of the telephone meeting on April 15, 2010, was postponed pending review of a full revised text.

Operations: The Board reinterpreted one policy in order to streamline operations, resolving that:

In transacting Society business in all instances except annual elections, "mail" may be legitimately understood to mean electronic mail. Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

The Board also took up two questions referred to it by the Administrative Director. One involved a small grant application which exceeded the established limit of \$150. The other an inquiry about the right of a chapter advisor to vote in chapter matters. Both matters required decisions by Administrative Director under the authority delegated to her by the Board. The Board concurred unanimously with the decision made by the Administrative Director and chose not to intervene.

Policy: In order to improve the flow of information to it and enhance its own education on activities within the Society the Board resolved that:

Beginning with the Annual Board Retreat in 2011 the chairs of committees and task forces be invited to the Saturday night dinner and the official business meeting as guests of the Society

Rosenstreich/Wolfe 4-0

The Board also resolved that:

The Society incorporate itself within the State of Pennsylvania. Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

Officers and Elections: The Board reviewed the policy for the rotation of officers. The Second Vice-President and the President-Elect take office in January of an odd-numbered year. In the absence of an elected Nominating Committee the Board continues to act in the role of a nominating committee. However, two members of the Nominating Committee will be on the ballot for the 2010 election. A call for nominations for two board positions as well as two positions on the Nominating Committee will go out by November 1. Ballots will be mailed November 15 and must be returned by December 15. To ensure continuity on the Nominations Committee the Board resolved that:

Phi Sigma Iota

Allegheny College, 520 North Main St., Box 30, Meadville, PA 16335-3902 Phone: 814-332-4886 Fax: 814-337-4445 Email: contact@phisigmaiota.org Philip Wolfe be appointed chair of the Nominations Committee. Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

Convention: As national conventions are costly and difficult to arrange, the Board continued its discussion of regional meetings as a pathway to a national meeting. As a result, the Board resolved that:

The Society allocate funds in the amount of \$2000 in the budget beginning in April 2011 to be used in support of a regional PSI conference in conjunction with the biennial SEPCHE [Southeastern Pennsylvania Consortium of Higher Education] foreign language symposium in spring 2012.

Rosenstreich/Donaldson 4-0

Status of Chapters: The Administrative Director reported on successful efforts to reestablish healthy regular communication with dormant chapters, to reactivate chapters which demonstrate an interest in doing so, and to encourage new applications for chapter charters. The Board approved the chartering of two new chapters as follows:

Resolved that:

The application of Hartwick College for a chapter charter be approved and that the application fee be waived.

Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

and that:

The application of Chestnut Hill College for a chapter charter be approved. Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

Committees: The Board directed the Administrative Director to activate the Editorial Committee. Susan Rosenstreich agreed to serve as chair of the Editorial Committee. The Board gratefully accepts the offer of J. Michael Wilson to serve as editor of the *Forum* beginning with the 2011 issue and hopes that he will accept a position on the Editorial Committee. The members of the Awards Committee were asked to continue. For the coming year the committee will consist of: Cynthia Halpern (Cabrini College), Joan Marx (Muhlenberg College) and Raquel Green (Cabrini College). The Board asked the chair (Halpern) to recruit an individual to serve as alternate on the Committee to serve in a member's stead should a member have to recuse him- or herself or for be unable to serve for some other reason.

Finances and Budget: Given the overall financial health and the improving financial position of the Society the Board discussed ways of assuring financial stability and improving member services. To put the resources of the Society to work for its members the Board revised the existing awards program by resolving that:

The Awards Committee be allowed to distribute the annual scholarship awards in the quantity and amount the committee deems appropriate given the worthiness of the applications received so long as the total funds disbursed do not exceed the budgeted allotment.

Halpern/Rosenstreich 4-0

and that:

The scholarship form be amended as follows:

Only active members of Phi Sigma Iota, both undergraduate and graduate students, are eligible for an award.

Rosenstreich/Halpern 4-0

To assure long-term financial growth and stability the Board approved several resolutions as follows:

Resolved that:

All proceeds from investments in Certificates of Deposit (both principal and interest) coming due in the current budget year be reinvested in municipal bonds with a rating of AA or higher at the highest possible rate of return.

Halpern/Wolfe, 4-0

and that:

Philip Wolfe be empowered and delegated to execute the financial transactions indicated in the resolution above without reservation or restriction. Halpern/Donaldson, 4-0

The remainder of the meeting was spent creating the schedule of meetings and action plans for the next twelve months.

Meeting adjourned at 11:35 exactly.

Respectfully submitted,

Randall Donaldson Executive Secretary.