

The International Foreign Language Honor Society



Member of the Association of College Honor Societies

www.phisigmaiota.org

# Business Meeting of the Executive Committee January 26, 2015

The meeting convened by phone at approximately 5:04 p.m. The participants included members of the Executive Committee (Joan Marx, Virginia Shen, Franz Joseph Wehage, Phillip Wolfe, and Mirna Trauger) along with the Administrative Director Roz Macken.

# 1. Votes on the minutes:

Minutes were approved by all members (5-0)

# 2. Administrative Director's Report:

\*Reported a question by Ole Miss about number of syllabi to be provided with chapter application since they have a ten language program. After discussion, it was decided that they would provide a recent syllabus from a literature, a language, and a culture course. \*Provided a template for wording changes that would require students to return scholarships if not used for the purpose outlined in their application. After discussion, it was decided that the new wording would be attached to scholarship applications and that acknowledgment of responsibility regarding the funds by the student would precede receiving the scholarship monies

### 3. The president's report:

\*Reported that MLA no longer advertizes scholarships but that ACTFL continues to do so

### 4. Budget:

Budget for 2015-2016 was approved by all members (5-0)

### 5. Ownership Linkage:

\*Committee members will ask advisors that they call if offering stipends to students for the member convention would generate more interest in attendance

\*More discussion about the stipend issue and the October member convention is set for the next phone meeting

Next meeting was set for April 13, 2015 at 5:00pm

The meeting adjourned at 5:54 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Mina Granger

Mirna Trauger Executive Secretary