Horizontal Bar
Web Banner Logo

Phi Sigma Iota

International Foreign Language
Honor Society, Inc.

Member of the Association of College Honor Societies

Reverse Horizontal Bar

Society Scholarships

Benefits of Membership
Executive Board
Member Resources
Advisor Resources
Chapter Locator
Chapter Websites
The Forum
Donate to Phi Sigma Iota

Phi Sigma Iota offers a competitive scholarship program for collegiate and alumni/professional members. The number and amount of the awards will be determined by the members of the Scholarship Committee based on the strength of the application.

Collegiate Member Scholarship Application Form

Alumni & Professional Member Scholarship Application Form

The first scholarship was established in 1939 in memory of the founder and first National President, Dr. Church.

In 1970, another scholarship was established in memory of Dr. Anthony S. Corbiere, who for nearly thirty years was National Historian, Editor of the Newsletter, and Executive Secretary of Phi Sigma Iota.

In 2000, two additional named scholarships were inaugurated, one to honor Dr. Cleon Capsus, professor of Spanish and Portuguese at the University of South Florida, and one to honor the years of devoted work on behalf of PSI by former National President Dr. Santiago Vilas.

The Dr. Marie-France Hilgar Scholarship was established to honor former President Dr. Hilgar.

In September 2015, the Phi Sigma Iota Executive Committee members voted to establish a scholarship to honor the memory of Dorothy I. Mitstifer, former President of the Association of College Honor Societies (ACHS), for her dedication in promoting high standards for all honor societies, as well as her instrumental stewardship of, and invaluable counsel to Phi Sigma Iota during a difficult period of transition.

2015-2016 Scholarship Award Recipients

Dr. Henry Ward Church
Dr. Anthony S. Corbiere
Elsie Hendricks Taylor M. Bonora
Alpha Chapter #0
Beta Tau Chapter #197
Allegheny College
California State University Chico

Dr. Santiago Vilas
Dr. Marie-France Hilgar
Scott K. Reagam Raquel Mattson-Prieto, Professional
Alpha Theta Chapter #111
Beta Tau Chapter #197
Lebanon Valley College
California State University Chico

Dr.Cleon Capsus
Dorothy I. Mitstifer
Lauren A. Heim Amanda B. Keating
Chi Omega Chapter #263
Sigma Upsilon Chapter #62
University of South Alabama
East Carolina University

Phi Sigma Iota
Phi Sigma Iota
Delaney E. Jones Maureen E. Koets, Professional
Gamma Tau Chapter #220 Psi Chapter #88
Ashland University St. Norbert College

Phi Sigma Iota
Phi Sigma Iota
Thea Miller Kelsey Zalac
Omega Alpha Chapter #260 Gamma Phi Chapter #222
Salem State University Northern Kentucky University

Phi Sigma Iota maintains an International Headquarters at
The Department of Modern & Classical Languages
Allegheny College
520 North Main St., Box 30
Meadville, PA 16335-3902
Phone: 814.332.4886
email: contact@phisigmaiota.org